Quotes Now Support 'Summarize by Item Type' Visibility Level
Recently ServiceTrade added the ability show your customers a summary of prices by item type (labor, parts, etc) on invoices. With today's release, that visibility level has been added to quotes as well.
You may choose the new 'Summarize by Item Type' option when editing your quote's items:
Choosing this option will result in a summary display for your customers when they view the quote:
As with other quote visibility level options, you can choose to make the default for all newly created quotes by editing your account's quote default visibility setting:
Invoice Visibility Levels Can Now be Used on Field Invoices
Previously, all invoices created by technicians in the field (using the work acknowledgement workflow) showed the details of all line items and their prices, regardless of your account's default invoice visibility setting.
With this release, it is now possible for technicians to adjust the amount of detail shown on the invoices that they create in the field.
By default, all invoices that your technicians create will show the level of detail selected in your account's default invoice visibility setting; for instance, if your account default setting is 'Grand Total Only', then all invoices created in the field will show only a grand total when the customer reviews and signs the work acknowledgement. However, the technician can adjust that visibility level on individual invoices to meet your business requirements for specific customers:
User Management Improvements
My Company Page Now Shows User and Technician Counts
The 'My Company' page (accessible by choosing My Account -> My Company in the menu) now shows a summary count of both the total number of users in your account, and the total number of technician users in your account.
This feature lets you easily determine the number of technicians you are currently using, as a reference for the number of technician licenses you should purchase from ServiceTrade.
Export User List
The ServiceTrade user list (accessible by choosing My Account -> Users in the menu) now can be exported. To export the user list, click 'Export to Spreadsheet' in the user list search menu:
IMPORTANT: The user list can only be exported by users who have been granted the 'Bulk Export User Data' activity. By default, all users who have been granted the 'Admin Activity' are also granted the user export activity, but you can adjust this by adding (or removing) the user export activity on any appropriate roles in your account. Please see this support article for more details about role and permissions management.
Warnings when Editing and Sending Processed Invoices
It is possible to perform certain activities on invoices (including editing and sending them) after they have been sent to your accounting system, which changes their status to 'Processed'.
With this release, you will now see a warning message when editing an invoice whose status is 'Processed':
You will also see a warning when sending by email an invoice that has already been sent to your accounting system:
You can choose whether to leave the invoice status as 'Processed' (the default), or change the invoice status to 'Sent'.
IMPORTANT: Please note that if you choose to change the invoice status to 'Sent', it is possible that you could send this invoice to your accounting system a second time, depending on the details of your accounting system integration. USE THIS OPTION WITH CAUTION.
Improved Customer Purchase Order Handling
The following rules are now applied to all invoices with regard to customer purchase orders:
- If an invoice is created for a job that has a customer purchase order assignment, the invoice automatically gets assigned the job's purchase order.
- If an invoice is created from a contract that has a customer purchase order assignment, the invoice automatically gets assigned the contract's purchase order.
- If both the job and the contract have customer purchase order assignments, the job's purchase order takes precedence over the contract's purchase order.
Please see this support article for more details on managing customer POs in ServiceTrade.
Job Office Assignments Now Suggest the Location's Office
When you edit a job and change its office assignment, the offices dropdown now suggests the location's assigned offices:
This release includes the following API improvements: