Creating and Managing Terms & Conditions

Alex McGinnis
Alex McGinnis
  • Updated

You can use ServiceTrade to manage the legal Terms & Conditions that govern the services delivered to your customers.

Those Terms & Conditions are displayed to your customers for jobs in Pre-Work Authorization, Work Acknowledgment, Quotes on the customer quote acceptance and quote print views, Invoices on the customer print and PDF views, and Change Orders on the change order acceptance page, as well as change order print and PDF views.

Prerequisites

  • Select Subscription - May create a single default Terms & Conditions that you want to apply to any job, quote, or invoice.
  • Premium or Enterprise Subscription -  May create as many Terms & Conditions as you wish, set default Terms & Conditions for jobs, quotes, invoices, and change orders, and select the particular Terms & Conditions that you want to apply to any job, quote, invoice, or change orders.

 

Creating Terms and Conditions

You can click the following link to add your Terms & Conditions or follow the steps below. 

  1. On the navigation bar, click My Account.
  2. In the sub-nav menu, click Terms & Conditions.
  3. Once on this page, click the Create a set of Terms & Conditions link to add each set of Terms & Conditions.
  4. Name your terms and conditions using the Name field.  
  5. Add in the Content of your terms. (Copy and paste from your current terms).
  6. Click Save.
    These saved terms will show in your list on this page and can be used as default terms or selected as quote terms when you create quote templates.
    T_and_C_Create_2.gif

Managing Terms and Conditions

If you have a Premium or Enterprise Subscription, you can manage multiple Terms and Conditions.

From the Terms and Conditions list, you can:

  • Create new Terms & Conditions.
  • Edit existing Terms & Conditions.
    Screen-Shot-2022-08-18-at-10-13-43-AM.png
  • Create a new Terms & Conditions entry by copying an existing one.
    Screen-Shot-2022-08-18-at-10-13-59-AM.png

As a Premium or Enterprise customer, you may create as many Terms & Conditions as you wish.  We recommend that you give your Terms & Conditions entries descriptive names, so you can easily identify them when selecting different Terms & Conditions options.

 

Deleting Terms and Conditions

In order to delete a set of Terms and Conditions from your account, they must NOT be in use by any existing contract, job, quote, or invoice in ServiceTrade.

  1. Click the following link to see your list of Terms and Conditions.
  2. Once on this page, click on the title of the Terms and Conditions you wish to delete.
  3. Once on the Terms and Conditions page, click the Delete Terms text button in the bottom right.
    Note: If you do not see the red Delete Terms text button on the Terms and Conditions page, this means this set of Terms and Conditions is currently in use on a contract, job, quote, or invoice and cannot currently be deleted. You will need to remove them from these entities before you are able to delete the Terms and Conditions.

 

Setting your Account's Default Terms and Conditions

If you have a Premium or Enterprise subscription, you may specify your account's default Terms and Conditions for jobs, quote, invoices, and change orders.

Select customers may select between their default Terms and Condition or none.

 To select your account defaults:

  1. Click on your User Avatar in the upper right corner of the screen and select Account Settings.
  2.  On the Account Settings screen, open the Terms and Conditions section.
  3. In the Terms and Conditions section, you may choose which default Terms & Conditions, if any, you want to be applied to newly created jobs, quotes, invoices, and change orders.
    T_and_Cs_Default.gif

When a new job is created, it will be assigned your account's default job Terms & Conditions; when a new quote is created, it will be assigned your account's default quote Terms & Conditions; when a new invoice is created, it will be assigned your account's default invoice Terms & Conditions; when a new change order is created, it will be assigned your account's default change order Terms & Conditions.

Note: When you change your Terms and Conditions default preference, the change applies only to newly created jobs, quotes, invoices, or change orders in the future. Existing jobs/quotes/invoices/change orders retain their current Terms and Conditions preference.

 

Setting the Terms and Conditions for Specific Jobs, Quotes, and Invoices

You can change the Terms and Conditions associated with any individual job, quote, or invoice. 

To Edit a Job's Terms & Conditions

    1. Navigate to the Job.
    2. Click the Manage Job link in the upper right corner of the job record.
    3. Then choose the Terms & Conditions for this job in the Terms and Conditions section.  
    4. Click Save to save your change.

To Edit a Quote's Terms & Conditions

    1. Navigate to the Quote
    2. Click the Manage Quote link in the upper right corner of the quote record
    3. Then choose the Terms & Conditions for this quote in the Terms and Conditions section.
    4. Click Save to save your change.

To Edit an Invoice's Terms & Conditions

    1. Navigate to the Invoice.
    2. Click the pencil icon in the upper right to edit it.
    3. Select the Terms & Conditions for this invoice in the Terms and Conditions section. 
    4. Click Save to save your change.

Note:  When a quote or job is copied, the newly created quote (or job) is associated with the copied quote's (or job's) Terms and Conditions, NOT your account's default Terms & Conditions.

Was this article helpful?

/

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.