Creating a Pre-Work Authorization in the Mobile App

Alex McGinnis
Alex McGinnis
  • Updated

Pre-Work Authorization is a document your customers can review and sign in the field. When a Tech first arrives at a job, the Pre-Work Authorization form can be used to review the work to be performed with the customer.

There might be times when approval is required from the personnel at a location before moving forward with the services on a job. When this happens, a Pre-Work Authorization can be generated, which lists all the details, services, and items on the job for the customer to review and sign.

This article will walk Techs through creating a Pre-Work Authorization on the ServiceTrade Mobile App. 

Step 1: Tech Creating a Pre-Work Authorization 

  1. On a Job Appointment Page, tap the Create Pre-Work Authorization button. This will take you to the Create Pre-Work Authorization Page.PreWorkAuth.jpeg.jpg
  2. On this page, the Tech can review the following information before you create the Pre-Work Authorization for your customer:
    • Job Number - ServiceTrade job number associated with the appointment.
    • Job Type - Type of job being performed.
    • Contact - Select an existing contact or create a new one for the person who will be signing the Pre-Work Authorization
    • Services - Services assigned to the appointment the Pre-Work Authorization is being created for. 
    • Job Items - Job items that were used on the appointment.
  3. On this page, there is also a text field where the Tech can add a Customer PO (if one is provided.)
  4. Once the Tech is done reviewing the Job Information. Tap the Review button in the top right corner. This will create the Pre-Work Authorization. PreworkReviewSMALL.gif
  5. The Tech can now let the customer review the Pre-Work Authorization

Step 2: Customer Reviewing Pre-Work Authorization

  1. Once the customer has completed their review and approval, they must tap the authorization toggle to switch it on.
  2. Then, the customer can tap the Confirm and Sign button.
    Screenshot 2024-01-23 at 10.40.03 AM.jpeg.jpg
  3. The customer will be taken to a screen where they will enter and review their contact information.
  4. Once done, the customer will tap the Next button.
  5. The customer will now be asked to provide their Signature if they "authorize this work to be performed as described."
    • If they need to redo their signature, they can tap Clear Signature and start over.
      PreworkSign.png
  6. Once done, they will tap the Complete button in the top right corner.

Step 3: Tech Finalizing Pre-Work Authorization

  1. The Tech should now ask the customer for the Mobile Device.
  2. The Tech can then tap the Done button in the top right corner to return to the appointment screen and begin working.

FAQs

Can I modify a Pre-Work Authorization that has already been sent and then resend it?

You can't modify a Pre-Work Authorization after its creation. The PDF has been flattened and prohibits editing. 

However, a User with Admin credentials can delete the Pre-Work Authorization from a Job, allowing the Tech to create another one. The one caveat is that the Pre-Work Authorization is not immediately available for the Techs to create after an Admin deletes it. It will take an indeterminate amount of time before the Tech can create a new one. 

 

How can I specify what my customers see on a Pre-Work Authorization?

Visible to Customer can be toggled on or off for Services, Job Items, Files and Photos, Deficiencies, and Comments. 


Note: If this toggle is on, the service, deficiency, attachment, paperwork, or job item will be visible on Work Acknowledgements, Pre-Work Authorizations, and Service Links. Editing customer visibility is identical across the Android and iOS apps.

Was this article helpful?

/

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.