Managing Synced Media (Attachments) Settings

Derek Torres
Derek Torres
  • Updated

Technicians can now see and access unsynced and synced photo and video attachments, as they are stored in a photo album on their iOS or Android device.

 

iOS Synced Media

For unsynced photos and videos, a unique photo album is created (with the job number as the title) for each corresponding job where the photos and videos were attempted to be synced. These albums are found within a new top-level "ServiceTrade" photo album on your device. There is also a photo album called Synced Items Bin within the ServiceTrade album, which holds all successfully synced photos and videos for later reference and can be cleared out using the new Clear Synced Media button found on the Preferences page.

 

Enable or Disable Synced Media on iOS

Note: For iOS 6.1.0 or greater

  1. On the latest iOS version of the ServiceTrade Mobile App, tap Preference.
  2. Tap to toggle on (green) or off (gray) the Back up photos & videos to this device.
    • Enabled - This will enable the Synced Items Bin features. This will also enable the Clear Synced Media button.
    • Disabled - This will disable the Synced Items Bin features. This will also remove the Clear Synced Media button.

SyncedMedia.gif

iOS Synced Media Video Walkthrough

 

Clear Synced Media

Technicians can delete photos and videos that have already synced to ServiceTrade by using the new Clear Synced Media button on the Preferences page. This can be quite helpful in cases where a technician's device photo library is filled up with photos from ServiceTrade jobs.

This feature will delete all job albums and media within the "ServiceTrade" album that have already successfully synced to ServiceTrade. It is worth noting that these photos and videos will still remain in the "Recently Deleted" folder for 30 days before being cleared out automatically by the operating system.

 

iOS Synced Media FAQ

What do I do when my photo album gets full?

On the preferences page, there is a new button titled Clear Synced Media that will delete any photos and albums that have successfully synced to ServiceTrade. This will help you manage and reduce the number of photos appearing in your photo library from ServiceTrade.

 

Where can I find the media stored on my device from the ServiceTrade App?

ServiceTrade photo and video attachments can be located in your Albums folder on your device's photo library. A unique photo album is created (with the job number as the title) for each corresponding job where the attachments were attempted to be synced. These albums are found within a new top-level "ServiceTrade" photo album on your device.

 

Android Synced Media

Note: For Android 5.4.2 or greater.

When "Sync photo and video attachments to this device" is enabled, photo and video attachments captured in the ServiceTrade application are now synced to the device's photo library and are stored directly on the device.

Important Note: This feature is defaulted to off for Android users. It can be turned on under the Preferences page via the toggle that states, "Sync photo and video attachments to this device."

For more information about fixes and improvements with this release, check out "What's New" on our Mobile App page in the Google Play store.

Android Synced Media Video Walkthrough

 

Android Synced Media FAQ

What do I do when my photo library gets full?

Currently, users will need to go in and manually delete any photos or videos they no longer need on their device.

 

Where can I find the media stored on my device from the ServiceTrade App?

ServiceTrade photo and video attachments can be located within your device's native photo library. 

 

What happens to existing photos or videos from my photo library that upload to job appointments in ServiceTrade?

Existing photos and videos from your library that are uploaded to ServiceTrade job appointments as attachments will not be deleted by the ServiceTrade app.

 

 

 

Was this article helpful?

/

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.