Managing Budgets on a Job

Derek Torres
Derek Torres
  • Updated

Budget Management is now available in beta for Premium and Enterprise customers. Budget Management is the first release in our larger Project Management suite in 2022-2023. Upcoming releases related to Project Management include WIP (work in progress) and advanced billing features. If you are interested in getting early access to budget management, reach out to your ServiceTrade Account Manager or email .

This article will walk you through how to edit and manage your High Level or Granular Level Budget from a job. If you have not already created a budget for a job, see this article for steps to do so.

Prerequisites

  • Budget Management requires a Premium or Enterprise account with Budget Management Role Permissions enabled.
  • A High Level or Granular Level Budget has been created on a job.

Executive Summary

The Executive Summary gives you a bird's eye view of your budget.

Wheel_Item_Type.gif

  • The Interactive Pie Chart gives you a proportional view of your budget where each slice represents the total budget for every Item Type. Hovering over each slice shows the Item Type, number of items of that type, the total budget of that type, and the percentage that type makes up of your total budget.
  • Budget Total (Original) shows you the original budget amount when you first locked this budget.
  • Budget Total (Revised) shows you the revised budget value if you have made any changes to the original budget it will be the same value as Budget Total (Original) if no changes have been made.
  • Change Order Totals is the dollar difference between the Revised that you proposed via Change Orders and the Original Budget.

Project Value and Estimated Margin

Budget Management also gives you a summary view of your Project's Value (the total price of all items on this job) and Estimated Margin.


In this example, we initially have no price set for any items. As we add prices you can see the Project Value and Estimated Margin change in real-time.

Add_Price_%2B_Total_Margins_Gif.gif

Lock and Unlock Budget

The Lock and Unlock icon on a Budget essentially communicates the state a budget is in. A locked budget indicates that the budget has been finalized and subsequent changes should be tracked via a change order.

The locking of a budget allows for better management of users being restricted from making unwanted changes that might result in mismanagement of initially set budget assumptions.

Lock_Unlock_Budget.gif

  • Lock Budget - When your budget is unlocked the text to the right of the lock icon will read Budget in Draft. 
    Clicking the icon opens a drop-down menu where you can select Lock Budget. This CANNOT BE UNDONE. It will make your budget uneditable and record the lock event in your budget history. To make changes you will have to submit a change order.

Editing your Budget

To edit your budget you will need to create a Change Order. Click Here to Learn more about Change Orders.
Create_Change_Order_Button.png

Collapsible/Expandable Services and Movable Items

  • You can Collapse or Expand the budget details of the services being performed on the job by clicking the arrows to the right of the services.
  • Grabbing the hamburger-shaped icon to the left of each item allows you to move budget items between services being performed on the job.

Collapse__Expand__Move_Gif.gif

Custom Item Descriptions and Delete Items

  • Clicking the trash can icon to the right of each item allows you to delete that specific item from your budget.
  • The pencil icon to the right of each item description allows you to create custom item descriptions.

CHange_Description_And_Delete_Gif.gif

Remove and Reinstate Budgets

  • When a budget is in Draft status, clicking the lock icon will display the Remove Budget Icon. Selecting Remove Budget, allows you to remove the budget from the job.
  • If you have removed a budget and you click +Add New Budget you'll see a link option at the top of the page to Reinstate a previously removed budget.
    • Clicking this link will show you the most recently removed budget. Clicking the green Reinstate Budget button will reinstate that removed budget.

Note: only the most recently removed budget is saved and available to be reinstated. All other previously removed budgets cannot be reinstated.

Remove_and_Reinstate_Budget.gif

Questions? 

Contact ServiceTrade support at support@servicetrade.com

 

Was this article helpful?

/